ATLANTA (March 30, 2022) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the 2022 Georgia Women’s and Men’s College Players and Coaches of the Year award winners. The honorees are:

Georgia Women’s College Player of the Year 

Lorela Cubaj, Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Named ACC Defensive Player of the Year (second consecutive year)
  • Became Georgia Tech’s All-Time Leading Rebounder
  • Averaged a double double (10.1 points, 11 .1 rebounds per game)—Highest rebounding average in the ACC for the second year in a row
  • Named a 2022 Naismith Defensive Player of the Year Finalist


Georgia Men’s College Player of the Year

Michael Devoe, Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Averaged 17.9 points, 4.9 rebounds, and 3.1 assists per game this season—Led the Jackets in scoring
  • Ranked 3rd in ACC scoring
  • Named All-ACC Third team
  • Finished top 10 in Effective Field Goal Percentage in the ACC with 54.3%

Whack Hyder Georgia Women’s College Coach of the Year

Susie Gardner, Mercer University

  • Won back-to-back SoCon Championships
  • Named 2022 SoCon Coach of the Year
  • Finished the regular season on a 12-game win streak to finish 23-6
  • Led the Bears to their sixth 20-win season since 2012-2013 and sixth SoCon regular season championship since 2014-2015
  • Fourth NCAA Women’s tournament appearance since 2018

Whack Hyder Georgia Men’s College Coach of the Year

Rob Lanier, Georgia State University

  • Led Georgia State back to the NCAA tournament—Fourth time that the Panthers have made an appearance since 2015
  • Finished the regular season on a 10-game winning streak
  • Claimed the 2022 Sun Belt Tournament Championship
  • Reached his 100th career win this season


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.




Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club

[email protected]