ATLANTA (March 26, 2020) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the Georgia Men’s and Women’s College Players and Coaches of the Year award winners. The honorees are:

Georgia Women’s College Player of the Year

Alexis Poole, Kennesaw State University

  • Poole earned a place on the ASUN All-Conference First Team and was named ASUN Player of the Week twice during the season.
  • In the matchup against Liberty University on Feb. 2, the junior forward broke 1,000 career points, finishing the season with a total of 1,171 points.
  • Ranking in the top 5 in the ASUN conference for both points and rebounds, she averaged 17.2 points and 7.9 rebounds per game.

Georgia Men’s College Player of the Year

Anthony Edwards, University of GeorgiaThe Atl

  • Selected as SEC Freshman of the Year, Edwards scored 24 points and had 9 rebounds in his debut game for Georgia, which was the most scored by a freshman in their first game since the 26-point debut by Dominique Wilkins in 1979.
  • The 6’5” guard was the SEC Player of the Week for four weeks during the regular season and earned a spot on the SEC All-Freshman Team and Second Team All-SEC.
  • He finished the season with an average of 19.1 points and 5.2 rebounds per game and 43 steals for the season.

Whack Hyder Georgia Women’s College Coach of the Year

Nell Fortner, Georgia Institute of Technology

  • Fortner led the Jackets to a 20-11 record, marking the best record by a first-year head coach in program history.
  • She also made history in Athens with the program’s first away win over the University of Georgia.
  • The Yellow Jackets went 4-2 against top-25 programs and 10-8 in the ACC.

Whack Hyder Georgia Men’s College Coach of the Year

Jason Zimmerman, Emory University

  • This season Zimmerman led his team to its fifth University Athletic Association (UAA) conference championship in his tenure.
  • The Eagles went 21-4 during the regular season and 11-3 in the conference.
  • He previously won the Whack Hyder Georgia Men’s College Coach of the Year award in 2013 and 2016.

“Despite their seasons being cut short, these players and coaches exemplified talent and skill,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “The contributions these four winners have made to their teams and to Georgia sports make them worthy of these awards. We’re proud to honor the athletes and coaches who represent our state and sport so well.”


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Citizen Watch Company, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club

[email protected]