ATLANTA (March 25, 2022) – Each season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club honors the top high school basketball players and coaches across the Metro Atlanta area. Today, Woodward Academy senior guard Sydney Bowles and Milton High School senior guard Bruce Thornton were named Miss and Mr. Georgia Basketball, respectively. Kara Dunn of Mount Paran Christian School and Simeon Cottle of Tri-Cities High School have been named the Atlanta Metro High School Girls and Boys Player of the Year. 

For outstanding coaching in the Atlanta area, two sets of honors are awarded—the Cremins High School Boys and Girls Coaches of the Year recognizing Regions 5A-7A and the Pinholster Boys and Girls Coaches of the Year for 1A-4A. Berkmar High School boys basketball coach Greg Phillips and Norcross High School girls coach Ashley Clanton have been selected as the Cremins winners. The Pinholster winners are Bob Martin of King’s Ridge Christian School and Stephanie Dunn of Mount Paran Christian School.

Additionally, the Atlanta Tipoff Club revealed the Atlanta All-Metro High School Girls and Boys Teams with 30 girls and 30 boys included.  The player honors were compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club Girl’s and Boy’s Selection Committees.

2022 Atlanta All-Metro High School Girls Teams

TeamNameHigh SchoolClassCommited To
First TeamDiana CollinsBrookwood Jr.Georgia
First TeamLayla HoodLovejoy Sr.Mercer
First TeamZaria HurstonNorcross Sr.DePaul
First TeamFlau'Jae JohnsonSprayberry Sr.Louisiana State
First TeamBryanna PrestonLovejoy So.
Second TeamKaleigh AddieGreater Atlanta Christian Sr.Xavier
Second TeamOlivia HutchersonHoly Innocents' Episcopal Jr.
Second TeamKehinde ObasuyiCarrollton Sr.Western Carolina
Second TeamJessie ParishHebron Christian AcademySr.Wofford
Second TeamBridget UtbergWoodstock Sr.Central Michigan
Third TeamXaviera DyerMaynard Jackson Sr.Georgia State
Third TeamMataya GayleRiver Ridge Jr.
Third TeamTaniya McGowanArcher Jr.
Third TeamKharyssa RichardsonNew Manchester Sr.Auburn
Third TeamAva Grace WatsonBuford So.
Honorable MentionCatherine AlbenGrayson Sr.Charleston Southern
Honorable MentionAubrey BeckhamHebron Christian AcademyFr.
Honorable MentionElle BlatchfordSequoyah Jr.
Honorable MentionDanielle CarnegieRockdale County So.
Honorable MentionCayla CowartWest Forsyth Sr.Tennessee Tech
Honorable MentionEvelina DavlakouLuella Sr.Jacksonville State
Honorable MentionKatelyn DunningMount Paran Christian Sr.West Georgia
Honorable MentionJessica FieldsMount Paran Christian Fr.
Honorable MentionKelli FinkleyStephenson Sr.
Honorable MentionCrystal HendersonKell Jr.
Honorable MentionCourtney OgdenThe Westminster SchoolsJr.Stanford
Honorable MentionLetiya ReevesEast Coweta Sr.
Honorable MentionLazaria SpearmanDacula Sr.Miami
Honorable MentionChloe SterlingMarietta Sr.James Madison
Honorable MentionSarah TaubCampbell Sr.North Florida
Honorable MentionRaven ThompsonLangston Hughes Sr.Tennessee-Chattanooga

2022 Atlanta All-Metro High School Boys Teams

TeamName High School ClassCommitted To
First Team RJ GodfreyNorth Gwinnett Sr.Clemson
First Team Josh ReedPace AcademySr.Cincinnati
First Team London JohnsonNorcross Jr.
First Team Malique EwinBerkmar Sr.Ole Miss
First Team Isaiah CollierWheelerJr.
Second TeamJameel RideoutBerkmar Sr.
Second TeamKaleb BanksFayette County Sr.Indiana
Second TeamKami YoungPebblebrook Sr.Rider
Second TeamKanaan CarlyleMilton Jr.Stanford
Second TeamAnthony ArringtonThe Galloway SchoolSr.
Third TeamAlahn SumlerBuford Sr.
Third TeamChauncey WigginsGrayson Sr.Clemson
Third TeamStephon CastleNewtonJr.UConn
Third TeamKyle KeenerSequoyah Sr.
Third TeamJerry DengNorcross Sr.
Honorable MentionGaddis HeathWestlake Sr.Charleston Southern
Honorable MentionJakai NewtonNewton Jr.Indiana
Honorable MentionJaQuez ThorntonDrew Charter Sr.
Honorable MentionJaiun SimonPebblebrook Jr.
Honorable MentionSpencer ElliottSt. Pius X Catholic Jr.
Honorable MentionJalen ForrestGreenforest Christian AcademySr.
Honorable MentionTyrese ElliottGrayson Sr.NC A&T
Honorable MentionIzaiyah NelsonMarietta Sr.Arkansas St.
Honorable MentionA.J. BarnesEagle's Landing Sr.
Honorable MentionBrandon RechsteinerEtowah Jr.
Honorable MentionDamoni HarrisonArcher Sr.
Honorable MentionDavid ThomasEagle's Landing Jr.
Honorable MentionLamariyon JordanDacula Jr.Georgia
Honorable MentionEthan Davis Collins Hill Jr.Tennessee (Football)
Honorable MentionKory MincyTri-Cities Jr.


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder. 




Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club 

[email protected]